Today is my birthday.  I’m 43 years old.

I received the first gift to honor the occasion at 12:54 a.m.

My 11th child.  My seventh daughter.

I’m certain I’ve never received a birthday gift that is more precious, nor one that more truly defines the word “gift”.

I don’t know her name, yet.  She hasn’t been awake much, and when she has been, she hasn’t wanted to talk about it.  It must not be so important to her as it is to us.

We thought she would be Samuel, believing we have been “heard of God”, but that seems inappropriate for someone so pretty and petite and feminine.

It seems likely God has heard us, anyway.

7 thoughts on “a birthday gift

  1. Congratulations Dale – to you and your family! Please pass on a hug to Renee and a kiss on the cheek for your precious birthday gift! Had to look – and noticed that these three names all mean ‘gift’ or ‘God’s gift’: Doran, Joanna and Mattea. 🙂

  2. Dale and Renee – Congratulations!!! God certainly knows how to Bless us, now doesn’t he? Let us know what you name her! Let her know that she’s being prayed over already 🙂

  3. Congratulations Dale and Renee! Charlotte and I are so happy for you and know that you are both very proud and pleased with this precious gift from God. Can’t believe she is your Birthday Gift! Wow! Blessings to you.

    Bob and Charlotte

Leave a Reply

